Skip to main content
All CollectionsAdmin - KnowledgeCreating, copying or importing knowledge
How can I archive or delete a topic, article or pathway?
How can I archive or delete a topic, article or pathway?

Information on how to archive or delete topics, articles and pathways.

Kathleen McGahey avatar
Written by Kathleen McGahey
Updated over a week ago

There may be some cases where you have created some training only to realise that you no longer need it. This article will step you through the differences between archiving and deleting as well as how to archive or delete a piece of knowledge, when required.

Archiving vs Deleting

The first step is to decide if you want to archive or delete your content.

Below is information on both options to help you decide which one is right for you. Please read the details carefully before proceeding to delete any topic, article or pathway in your portal.

Note: As a general rule, if you're not sure - always archive something rather than delete it as deleting is an irreversible action.

Archiving


You can archive topics, articles and pathways in your portal.

Archiving topics, articles or pathways will remove them from explorer dashboards and disable enrolment options, but retain the content and historical enrolment data in case it's needed again in future.

Explorers will no longer have access to a topic or article once it's archived, however, creators and admins will still be able to see and edit any archived topic or article.

Explorers will no longer be enrolled in pathways once they're archived, however, the topics or articles included in the pathway will retain their visibility status (i.e. 'draft' or 'active') and enrolments in those items that are separate to the archived pathway will not be affected (for example, if an explorer is enrolled in two pathways with a common topic, their enrolment in the topic will be retained for the pathway that isn't archived).

Here's a list of everything that happens when a topic, article or pathway is archived:

Note: Topics or articles that are part of a pathway are not automatically removed from the pathway if archived.

Once a topic or article is archived, you can change it back to 'draft' or 'active' mode at any time via the general settings for the topic or article. Similarly, you can change pathways back to 'active' via the or general settings for the pathway. Changes to visibility status can also be achieved using the bulk actions on the 'Topics', 'Articles' or 'Pathways' tab in Knowledge, when you select one or more items.

Deleting


Deleting topics, articles or pathways will delete all data associated with it.

This information cannot be restored once it has been deleted, so only use this option if you do not require any historical information to be retained.

Once deleted it will be removed entirely from the admin area of your portal and explorer dashboards. Data related to the deleted item will also be removed from any reporting it was previously included in.

WARNING! Deleting a topic, article or pathway will remove all of the data associated with it, including reporting information. Deleted topics, articles and pathways and their associated data cannot be restored. Only proceed to delete items you are confident you will not need again.

Expand the rows below for steps to archive topics or articles, or delete topics, articles or pathways.

Archiving a topic, article or pathway


To archive a topic, article or pathway, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Admin Knowledge.

  2. Select the Topics, Articles or Pathways tab, depending on the type of knowledge you want to archive.

  3. Select the checkboxes next to each topic, article or pathway you want to archive.

    Note: You may like to first use the filters or search box to locate specific training you want to archive.

  4. Click the 'Bulk Actions' button and select 'Archive knowledge'.

  5. Confirm you want to archive the topic, article or pathway by clicking 'Archive topics' (or articles or pathways).


    A final pop-up will confirm that the topic, article or pathway has been successfully archived.

Alternatively, you can archive a single topic, article or pathway via the general settings for the topic, article or pathway by clicking 'Edit General' and changing the visibility status back to 'active' or 'draft' for topics or articles or back to 'active' for pathways (note: the 'draft' status is not available for pathways).

Deleting a single topic, article or pathway

WARNING! Deleting a topic, article or pathway will remove all of the data associated with it, including reporting information. Deleted topics, articles and pathways and their associated data cannot be restored. Only proceed to delete items you are confident you will not need again.

If you are confident you wish to delete a topic, article or pathway, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Admin Knowledge.

  2. Select the Topics, Articles or Pathways tab.

  3. Click the title of the topic, article or pathway you want to delete to access it's overview page.

  4. From the overview page, select 'I want to...' at the top right.

  5. Select 'Delete Topic (or Article/Pathway)' from the drop-down menu that appears.

  6. Confirm you want to delete the topic, article or pathway by clicking 'Delete topic (or article/pathway)'.

  7. Further confirm the deletion by entering the text into the text box as requested, then click 'Confirm delete'.


    A final pop-up will confirm that the topic, article or pathway has been successfully deleted and no longer exists in your portal (along with all of its associated data).

Note: Deleting a pathway will not delete the topics or articles within the pathway.

Deleting topics, articles or pathways in bulk

WARNING! Deleting a topic, article or pathway will remove all of the data associated with it, including reporting information. Deleted topics, articles and pathways and their associated data cannot be restored. Only proceed to delete items you are confident you will not need again.

If you are confident you wish to delete topics, articles or pathways in bulk, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Admin Knowledge.

  2. Select the Topics, Articles or Pathways tab.

  3. Select the checkboxes next to each topic, article or pathway you want to delete

    Note: You may like to first use the filters or search box to locate specific training you want to delete.

  4. Click the 'Bulk Actions' button and select 'Delete knowledge'.

  5. Confirm you want to delete the selected topics, articles or pathways by clicking 'Delete topic (or article/pathway)'.

  6. Further confirm the deletion by entering the text into the text box as requested, then click 'Confirm delete'.

    A final pop-up will confirm that the topics, articles or pathways have been successfully deleted and no longer exist in your portal (along with their associated data).

Note: Deleting a 'Pathway' will not delete the Topics or Articles within the Pathway.

Help! It won't let me delete my selected topic, article or pathway!

There are generally two reasons why a topic, article or pathway cannot be deleted.

  1. The first reason is that the text to confirm deletion has been entered incorrectly. Check you have typed the text exactly as it is displayed before selecting 'Confirm delete'.

  2. The second reason is that you have the 'Deletion Protection' feature enabled for one of the topics, articles or pathways you're trying to delete. Check the details in our Deletion Protection article to learn more about this setting. This option must be disabled in order for you to delete the training.

Did this answer your question?