Share links to allow existing internal users to 'click to enrol' in topics or pathways
All knowledge in Tribal Habits (including imported or copied library topics) has the option to share internal auto-enrolment links. You can find these links on the Access tab of any topic or pathway in the Internal Auto-Enrol Links section.
When clicked by an existing user who is logged into your portal, an internal auto-enrol link will automatically enrol that user into the relevant knowledge. This allows you to manage enrolments from outside Tribal Habits – say, via an email or intranet site. You can share these internal auto-enrol links in your organisation and people can elect to enrol in that knowledge themselves. This is also very useful if you want to 'deep link' to knowledge in things like PDF documents, intranet sites or performance review portals.
Note: If an existing user is already enrolled in this knowledge or has completed this knowledge and they click on the internal enrolment link for that same knowledge, it will not reset their enrolment or change their completion.
How do internal auto-enrolment links work?
Some key things to know about auto-enrolment links:
An auto-enrol link exists for each topic and pathway by default. However, you can create additional internal auto-enrol links for them too.
For each link, you can add optional reference labels and notes, helping you remember where these links are used, and who they were sent to.
Each link can be deactivated temporarily or deleted permanently. Deactivating a link temporarily prevents enrolments (users will receive a message informing them the link is currently disabled). Deleted links are permanently destroyed for security purposes and cannot be recovered.
Internal auto-enrol URLs can also trigger the event notification option for self-enrolments for that knowledge, so you can be alerted each time someone uses an external auto-enrol option.
Note:
'Internal' auto-enrol links are for users 'known' to you. To use one of these links, someone must already be a user in your portal OR you must be using single-sign-on to allow that person to be auto-provisioned as a new user in your portal. In this way, internal auto-enrol links are secure – only existing or secure users can access them.
If you need to create an option for new users or external users to self-register and enrol in training, please use our self-registration token feature instead.
Internal auto-enrolment links do not work for 'External' users in an SSO-enabled portal.
Creating new internal auto-enrol links
Follow these steps to create a new internal auto-enrol link:
Navigate to the Access tab of the topic or pathway and scroll to the Internal Auto-Enrol Links section.
Click Edit. Then click Add an internal link, found at the top right of the panel.
Reference: Optionally, enter a Reference – a label to help you identify each link's purpose and distinguish it from others.
Add any Notes to help you keep track of where the link has been used and who it was sent to.
Limit: This optional setting determines the maximum number of enrolments that can be created by this token. The setting can be:
No (0) which means 'unlimited' and will have no restrictions on how many times the token is used.
Yes plus a number sets the limit. Once reached, further use of the token will return a message that the limit has been reached and new users/enrolments will not be created.
Expires: This optional setting determines the maximum date for which enrolments can be created by this token. The setting can be:
dd/mm/yyyy, the default value, or shown when the date is deleted, effectively means 'no expiry' and therefore the token will always be available for use regardless of the date.
A specific date which limits use of the token until that date is reached. Use of the token following the selected date will return a message that the token expiration has been reached and new users/enrolments will not be created.
Click Save.
Deleting or deactivating an internal auto-enrol link
Follow these steps to delete or deactivate an internal auto-enrol link:
Navigate to the Access tab of the topic or pathway and scroll to the Internal Auto-Enrol Links section.
Click the Active filter dropdown, and select Inactive.
Click Edit, then click Deactivate or Delete next to the relevant link. Note that deactivated links can be reactivated at any time, but deleted links cannot be recovered.
Click Save.
Managing large lists
There are a few features that can help you manager a large number of auto-enrol links:
The panel is paginated at 25 links per page.
A search field sits above the list at all times.
A filter lets you show All, Active or Inactive links.
Inactive means the item has been deactivated, has passed its expiry date, or has reached its usage limit. By default only Active links are visible.
Expired dates and reached limits are shown in red.
New links are added to the top of the list.

