Skip to main content
All CollectionsAdmin - PeopleCreating and updating users
What's the difference between Staff, Client and Prospect users?
What's the difference between Staff, Client and Prospect users?

When creating a new user, each user can be designated as one of three types - staff, clients or prospects.

Lou Monsour avatar
Written by Lou Monsour
Updated over a week ago

When creating a new user, each user can be designated as one of three user 'types' - staff, clients or prospects.

  • Staff - These are users 'internal' to your organisation. So typically they will be your employees, but perhaps also your contractors or similar users who work within your business.
    โ€‹

  • Clients - These are users 'external' to your organisation but known to you. They will be your own customers and clients. You might use Tribal Habits for client meeting preparation topics or customer education.
    โ€‹

  • Prospects - These are also users 'external' to your organisation, but perhaps initially unknown to you. Prospects are often created by Public URLs - topics you have made available externally (on your website or via social media) and allowed external users to sign-up to your portal and access that topic. Prospects may therefore represent new potential clients for your business. However, you can also use prospects as a third type of user - perhaps contractors or others.

What is the impact of setting a user 'type' as staff, client, or prospect?

The impact of setting a user type as staff, client, or prospect is improved reporting for admins and the ability to control who has access to which knowledge.

  • Reporting - you can filter user types to differentiate results across each group.

  • Enrolments - you can apply 'Type' filters and create specific enrolment rules for those setup as staff, clients and prospects.

  • Self enrolments - each topic can be individually enabled for self-enrolment for each 'type'. This allows you to run three separate self-enrolment topic libraries.

IMPORTANT - only users listed as 'Staff' can see the 'Create training' button when it's enabled in your organisation. Users can't see what user 'type' they are. Only admins can see whether a user has been set up as a staff, client or prospect.

Did this answer your question?